About Us

The Mission of the CMS PTSA

The Community Middle School PTSA forges partnerships with parents, teachers, students, administrators, and staff members in order to: Facilitate communication between school and home; Support excellent and innovative curriculum and instruction; and assist the administration and teachers in promoting student well-being and building a positive school culture at CommUNITY.

Have you ever wondered: What does the CMS PTSA do?

Student assemblies for character building 

“You don’t know me until you know me.”  Presented by Dr. Michael “Mykee” Fowlin (scheduled for 1.11.18)

“Bystander – A Portrait in Apathy.” Performed by our 8th graders. Written and directed by Jillian Palmieri (11.3.17)

Parent programs with in-district and out-of-district experts: Topics such as drug and alcohol awareness; navigating your kids’ online world; cyber safety; deciphering WW-P academic programs; planning for high school; etc.

Coffee with the Principal: Meet with Dr. Shauna Carter several times throughout the year to discuss topics relevant to CMS and the students

6th Grade Welcome Open House 

7th Grade World Cup refreshments

8th Grade Year-End programs: 8th grade celebration; 8th grade picnic desserts; HSN t-shirts for graduating 8th graders

All grades: Team Day snacks

National PTA Reflections Program

Scholarship donation toward HSN graduating recipients

Scholastic Book Fair (week of 10.9.17 through 10. 13.17)

Staff Appreciation luncheon

Donations and Mini-Grants Mini grants to teachers and donations toward school improvements / materials not covered by district budget

NOTE: These CMS PTSA programs are able to run only with generous funding and volunteer participation.

CMS PTSA Officers for 2017-2018

President – Joanne Lasky | joanne.lasky.ptas@gmail.com
Executive Vice President – Eileen Sattiraju | esattiraju@gmail.com
Administrative Vice President – Sandra Faivre | slfaivre@gmail.com
Vice President Fundraising – Wenqing Zhao | wenqingzhaoli@gmail.co
Vice President Standing Committees – Annie Ran | ranhuang@yahoo.com
Co-Vice Presidents Student Events – Kathleen Kim | katkimnyc1@gmail.com
Secretary – Jennifer Kong | jendenkon@yahoo.com
Treasurer – Archana Keswani | archana.keswani@gmail.com